2002-07-03
Running for his life

I just learned of the death of Trevor Price, a classmate of my daughter's at her QUEST class. He was stricken with a particularly aggressive form of leukemia. There was a city-wide fund drive to help pay for his bone marrow transplant, which he had on May 31st. his younger brother was the donor.

It didn't work. The cancer came back hard and fast, and he died last Sunday.

He was 12 years old.

*******

For the last 24 hours, my son has been running off without telling us where he's going. It's just been around the neighborhood, but it's hard to find him nonetheless. He's almost 9. He thinks he's 23. Is it because of the news of Trevor's death that I feel a special panic when I call for him and he's not there? Or would the panic be just as sharp any way about it?

Either way, I am motivated to train extra-hard for my marathon. I will wear a bracelet for Trevor. I'm running for his life.

previous | next