2001-09-16
Endurance

Sunday afternoon. Usually sort of a veg-out/get ready for the coming week kind of time. Today is no exception. We went to see a very cool exhibit at The Burke Museum about the Shackelton party and their ship Endurance. A really fascinating story, and the photos are incredible. It looks like these pictures could have been taken last week rather than 86 years ago.

This whole attack on American soil by terrorists has made for one of the most surreal weeks of my life. Thursday was the worst. All of the human misery stories, which before we could only imagine, started pouring in. I sat transfixed in front of the television all day and absorbed the shock and misery. I was a mess by evening.

Anyway, it's Sunday now. A new week approaches. I can only hope that things will get less complicated and tragic. I won't hold my breath.

previous | next