2002-07-20
Go, Me, Go!

Yay! Went to my kickoff party! It was so great. My husband and kids came with me, and we got to meet my honor patients. Turns out the whole group gets to share honor patients (I actually thought everybody got their own...which would mean a lot of honor patients.) I am now the proud wearer of wristbands bearing the names of:

Katie Gunsolus is 5 years old. She is in treatment for leukemia. She starts kindergarten this fall. She has an identical twin sister named Laura, but it's easy to tell them apart now because Katie just has downy hair on her head and Laura's is long. They are the cutest, spunkiest kids with the biggest smiles. Katie LOVED meeting everyone and having her picture taken.

Maritza Braga-Brown is a beautiful woman whom I met when I registered. She has survived Hodgkins disease TWICE and is now both an honored patient AND a participant. She's gonna walk the Honolulu marathon to raise money for leukemia. She's a very inspirational speaker and I was tickled pink to learn that she would be one of my honor patients, as I think she's really cool.

And, of course, I have Trevor Price's name on the third wrist band. I'm running for all three of them.

Today I had Chris drive me three miles away from the house and leave me there. I had to get home on my own power! I did it in 50 minutes, which isn't nearly as fast as I'd like but, hey, some of us are hares and some are tortoises, y'know?

I'm so glad that the kickoff has happened and I'm really IN IT now. GO, me, GO!

previous | next