2002-07-24
Bye Bye Birdie

Okay, so I figured out what the "Owie Butt" is all about. It's called piriformis syndrome and it's basically some tight muscles pinching my sciatic nerve. Bleah! I am supposed to try to stretch them out a lot and that should help. I didn't train yesterday because I wanted to rest them, then I stretched and stretched and just completed a very EASY walk today. So, tomorrow we push it a little harder.

Some birds set up a nest on the path where I walk my dog. They looked like maybe they were baby sparrows. They were tiny and bald and incredibly ugly and there were only two of them. The next was built right into the ground.

Bad location, birdies.

When I went this morning there were two dead baby birds. The one on top had its head bitten neatly off. I'm not sure what happened to the one underneath. As it was when they were alive, I didn't want to get too close to the nest. This time, instead of a whole cacaphony of sparrows "chit-chit" -ing angrily at me, there was only one. Far away. Maybe nobody told him.


previous | next