2002-08-14
Going to Philly for the weekend

Training continues.

I didn't do anything yesterday. Naughty me! Can't let that happen too often, or I will lose whatever momentum I have going here.

This weekend will be interesting. I'm going to visit my sister in Philly, so I won't be around for the team training. I have to do 6 miles on my own! Gonna be on the treadmill at the Embassy Suites. Gotta do it! GOTTA!

Fundraising is going great. It's been really interesting though. When we registered they said "You will be surprised at who donates, and who doesn't donate." They were absolutely right. I have received donations from people I don't even know, yet very close relatives refuse to even read the letter I wrote. Why? I really don't know. What are they thinking? Are they thinking "I don't want to look cheap or lame by giving a very small amount, so I'm not going to give anything at all."? Or are they thinking "She has plenty of money. Why is she asking ME for some?" Well, I'm not. The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society is. And I view it as such a sign of faith and support when people give. However much.

But, people have their reasons. I CAN'T take it personally when they choose not to give. There are a million reasons why they choose, none of which have to do with me.

I WILL RUN IN PHILLY! I WILL!

previous | next