2003-01-05
I Love Anne Lamott

God Bless Anne Lamott. Or rather, God Blesses Anne Lamott. To be able to see what is holy and good in things like hamburgers and street people and wet tennis shoes must be a blessing. Go to Salon. Read her column. Buy her books (especially Operating Instructions and Traveling Mercies). You'll be glad you did. She's wonderful. And damn funny.

She seems like the kind of person who would be a really great friend. Then again, maybe not. It's not like she seems like she wouldn't be, it's just that I know sometimes people who are great at expressing deep and tender things through their art aren't so good at living it. So I won't assume. Though I can wonder.

I have a friend who reminds me of Anne Lamott. She writes like her. Go check out kathmccall's diary. She's cool. She sees stuff, too. And she really is a nice and tender person, so that's a plus.

Well, it's a new year and I should write something pithy but I don't want to. Maybe later. But this is some writing so that's good.

previous | next