2003-04-20
Easter Monkeys and Orangutan Smiles

Oh man, I am SO out of the habit of typing here. But here I attempt it again.

Let's see, quick summary:

I'm still training for the Alaska Marathon.

I didn't get accepted to the Univ. of Wash. MFA Creative Writing program. I'm not going to apply to any other programs right now, I'm just going to write.

I'm on this very strict diet and exercise regimen as of yesterday through my health club. I'm having lots of protein shakes and meat and water and I'm cranky right now but that's to be expected. S'posed to feel better in a few days.

My birthday was four days ago. I turned 36. We went to Passover dinner and pigged out. It was yummy.

Today is Easter. My cousin's four year old son asked her "Mom, when's the Easter Monkey coming?" so now we all call it The Easter Monkey. THat's funny. I like monkeys better than bunnies anyway.

We went to the zoo today. There was a big old orangutan sitting right on the other side of a window in her habitat, faced pressed right up against the glass, looking at all the people passing by. I sat up right next to her and stroked her face through the glass and made eye contact with her. She smiled! Maybe just a coincidental lifting of the corners of her mouth, but hey, I make eye contact and the corners of the mouth go up and we're both primates, I'm calling it a smile.

previous | next