2002-06-26
Consuming Emptiness

Day two of Leslie's Excellent Adventure. I did a bit more running today, and went a bit farther. This whole gradual progress/eventual results thing will be a good experience for me. I'm normally such an "Instant Gratification Takes Too Long" kind of gal. But this is one of the reasons I wanted to do this. I want to WORK for something. Something hard, and something of my own choosing. Not just overcome something that's been thrown at me, but go pick a challenge and then surmount it; consciously and methodically.

I'm definitely in a "defining my values and goals" phase right now, and it feels good. I was living a surface life for a long time. It was all about how much I could consume materially. Hey, conspicuous consumption is a lot of fun, but it can leave one feeling, paradoxically, empty after a while.

previous | next