2002-10-31
Happy Halloween / Virtuous November

HAPPY HALLOWEEN?

Did you eat a lot of candy tonight? I didn't. But I ate a lot, anyway.

But tomorrow begins "Virtuous November". I have so many things going on. First of all, I signed up for the National Write a Novel in a Month Challenge (www.nanowrimo.org) and I am going to write a 50,000 word novel in November. Boy o boy!

I am also going to be taking the GRE on November 6. I can't remember if I've told you all that I'm going to apply to the graduate program at the University of Washington to get my MFA in Creative Writing. I have to take the GRE to get in. Ack! I've done some preliminary practices tests in the verbal and analytical writing areas. I think I'll be fine. The math? Hosed. Totally hosed. The U says they really just look at the verbal scores, but will a record low math score count me out? Who knows? I can only do what I can do.

And, of course, I'm still training for my marathon. I haven't been keeping up with recording it here. Naughty me! But I did 12 miles last weekend. Took me three hours and 7 minutes! I was NOT fast.

This weekend I only have to do 8 and I hope to be much faster. We'll see. Certainly don't want to injure myself. Better to be slow and finish than be fast and not finish.

Good to be back here at Diaryland. Somebody send me a message!

previous | next