2002-11-06
Hooray! I Still Have a Brain!

Hooray! I did it! I took the GRE and passed with good scores!

I'm trying to get in to the MFA in Creative Writing program at the Univ. of Washington. They require applicants to take the GRE, and those applicants tend to average 600 (out of a perfect 800) points on the verbal part of the exam. They don't pay much attention to the math part.

I realized, as I started studying for this thing, that my last standardized test was the SAT, taken when I was 16. I'm 35 now. THAT WAS MORE THAN HALF MY LIFE AGO! AACK! I've had two kids since then, and been a stay at home mom for most of the past 11 years. MY BRAIN TURNED TO SUCCOTASH A LONG TIME AGO!

Well, I studied and studied (I also had to give up the Write a Novel in a Month challenge...ate up all my study time) and I gave up a concert by Ben Folds last night so that I could get enough sleep for this morning's test. The test was scheduled for 8am, and they said to be there by 7:30am. I left the house at 6:30 and got there by 7:15. They processed me and got me started on the test by 7:45, and I was out by 10:30.

It was hard! First I had to write an essay giving my opinion on an argument stated. I had 45 minutes for that. That went immediately into 30 minutes for an essay analyzing an argument presented (not offering my opinion, but analyzing how well the argument was presented.) I'd tell you what the topics were, but I can't. They made me write out an oath (in my own handwriting..NO PRINTING said the instructions) saying I wouldn't tell anyone what the questions/topics were! Sheesh!

I got a ten minute break after that. Then it was on to the Verbal section for 30 questions in 30 minutes...and then the Quantitative (math) section for 45 minutes.

Then they gave me another Verbal section. They do that to do research...they make you take another test even though your brain is fried and you're technically already done! Aren't there any poor college students that could do that to and pay them? I paid $115 to take this test, I shouldn't have to pay for THEIR research!

Anyway, I got my verbal and quantitative scores right away. And I got 690 on the Verbal (yay!) and 560 on the Math (OH MY GOD). That's really a high math score for me, especially since my tests were coming in about 200 pts. lower than that. I have to wait to hear how I did on the essays, as someone must read and grade them.

So, that's it. I'm done. I did well. My brain is fried, but it's awfully nice to know it still can perform when called on to do so.


previous | next